A domestic violence (DV) conviction can do much more than land you in jail. It comes with stiff penalties. It can prevent you from visiting your children, take away your right to own a firearm and forever tarnish your record. This can all happen even if your significant other wants to drop all charges against you.
In fact, your significant other has very little power once the police are called and the case is turned over to the government. In Clark County, Washington, domestic violence is prosecuted very aggressively. The rest of the country looks to Clark County's Domestic Violence Prosecution Unit as a model for "successful" prosecution.
Experience On Both Sides Of A Domestic Violence Case
When you are up against serious penalties and one of the best DV prosecution units in the country, you want a Vancouver, Washington, criminal lawyer who has the experience and know-how to defend you well. At the law firm of Green & Ritchie, PLLC, you don't just find one attorney with those qualifications; you find a team of attorneys, including three former Clark County Domestic Violence Unit prosecutors.
No-Contact Order Penalties
One of the most distressing penalties for a domestic violence assault conviction is the no-contact order. A no-contact order can be issued by the court for up to two years in a domestic violence misdemeanor case and for a lifetime in felony cases. It prevents you from having contact with your loved one or, in some cases, your children. If you work with the other party, you may even have to find another job.
Prosecutors will try to use the no-contact order to leverage you into accepting a plea deal. Do not accept this "deal." There are many hidden consequences, including a lifelong criminal record, that can prevent you from getting employment or pursuing your desired profession.
Our lawyers are very adept at resolving DV cases in ways that minimize the penalties our clients face, whether that means winning at trial or negotiating with prosecutors for a more reasonable result.
Possible Penalties Of A Domestic Violence Conviction In Washington State
In Washington state, domestic violence misdemeanors are punishable by up to $1,000 in fines and 90 days in jail. A gross misdemeanor is punishable by up to $5,000 in fines and a year in jail.
There are also added penalties not found in most criminal cases, including one year of required domestic violence defender treatment. This is a statutorily approved program that consists of 32 sessions over 26 weeks, including six monthly follow-ups. This is a huge time commitment and can end up costing you thousands of dollars. Our Washington domestic violence (DV) defense lawyers are skilled at arguing that this type of treatment is unwarranted in many domestic violence cases.
Contact Us To Fight The Conviction And Avoid the Penalties
If you need assistance with a criminal matter after business hours or on the weekend, please call attorney Jack Green directly at 360-989-2209.
At the law firm of Green & Ritchie, PLLC, we know the penalties that you are up against. We also know how to fight them. Call us at 360-450-2434 or send us an email to schedule a meeting about your domestic violence charges in Vancouver, Washington.